Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

North of Hadrian's Wall

I love walking north of Hadrian's Wall and today we did 12 miles nearly all in the north. It is wild and open countryside with a few isolated farms scattered around.

The group photo was taken at the end, when we were at Housesteads Roman Fort, so technically south of the Wall. I like the landscape behind the group, so this became my blip today - well the walkers look great too, of course!!

Our route was from Wark (pronounce W - ark like Noah's) to Housesteads. It had a lot more ascent than descent, but I made it. On the final leg, I felt a twinge in my left heel, so stopped to put on a preventative blister plaster. Too late! So now I'm willing the broken area to heal overnight ready for the next walk.

Well done to Chris for leading well and to Gwen and Catriona, who were the other team members.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.