Pigeon Pals.

Today I have done a few little jobs at home, andcaught up with Blip comment.

I also started my 2 week diet healthy eating initiative as devised by Jeri! Porridge and fruit for breakfast - very delicious. Then it was soup for lunch, which I had to make. That is actually make - not open the tin and bung in the microwave! 

One of the ingredients is a butternut squash. I had never knowingly eaten a butternut squash before, and wasn't sure what to expect. I started peeling, and thought "Oh, it's a bit like swede then that will be OK..." then suddenly - SEEDS!! 

I wasn't expecting that, and the sight of them and the fibres around them made me feel a bit queasy! Anyway I dealt with that and carried on, chopping various veg, cooking and then blitzing with the stick blender. I wasn't looking forward to eating it, and was seriously regretting saying I would do this! 

But I can honestly say that, once a bit of cumin, salt and pepper were added, it was THE BEST SOUP I HAVE EVER TASTED!! Even better than Heinz tomato or Baxters spicy parsnip! The texture is not unlike the parsnip one, as it goes... It's a good job I love it, as it is my lunch for the next two days as well!

After lunch I went into town for a wander. I replaced my slippers with a new pair, as the sole is coming off the old ones and making my feet cold. The new ones were half price from a shop that is having a closing down sale.

Itook this shot of a lad feeding his pigeon friends whilst I was in town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.