Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Today I took care of the remaning tomato plants. I decided to try a new thing and place branches with not ripe tomatoes and flowers in water, just to see if they could grow and mature. I did something similar earlier when I accidentally broke a small branch with some tomato flowers on. I put the branch in another tomato plant pot, just stuck it down in the soil and one tomato has started to grow. That's why I decided to try this. 
Some flowers had frostbites and wasn't able to be saved. But now all of the tomato plants are cut down. An annoying wasp chased me inside earlier that I thought but I'm happy with the work done today.
I also found a lot of butterfly cocoons. Either on the wall of the large greenhouse - as in the top right shot, or on leaves and outside on pots. I put all of them in a pot and will try and keep them a bit warm during winter and they will have sticks to climb on to, so they can dry their wings, when spring arrives. I also found a cold caterpillar. Not sure if it's going in to a cocoon stage or not, but I'll put the whole pot in the greenhouse during winter. Hopefully it'll survive. I've given up on the lovely plant it sits on... I'm not going to get any brussels sprouts on that one either.

I do have some things I'll do different next season... I'm covering my kale plants so I can enjoy some of them at least. I'm also cutting down on the number of tomato plants, and I will remove sprouts while they grow. To much focus on hight, this year, and not enough focus on producing tomatoes. I've already begun planning for next season. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.