Late afternoon.

I got home from an afternoon, a regular Thursday trip, after taking out my friend for tea and cake. She cannot drive now having had a stroke last November. 
The stroke, however, affected her speech, not her physical abilities. So although to all intents and purposes she can take care of her daily physical routines like everyone else, the words still do not make a lot of sense, in-between the lucid sentences.And at the moment needs a lot of therapy and outside help in the house.
     It can lead to some funny moments. 
       She wanted to ask for a knife and fork as she had decided to have a sandwich which came with a little salad garnish.
      "I'll go," she said, "I need to try."
She knew what she wanted to ask for but could not quite get the hang of the words as I repeated them slowly.
      Finally managing to say knife, and feeling very pleased with herself, she then said to me 
      " I'll say nigh and f**k" 
"No" I said " That sounds rude" saying it back to her. She laughed! 
      But she went and managed to get them. 
It makes me so thankful that I have all my faculties and independence.   
  My sister who is 5 years younger than me had a bad stroke aged 56 and had to learn to walk again. But it did not affect her speech. Her hubby took early retirement to care for her in the first two years as she was determined to recover. 
      And she has raised a lot of money for the Stroke Association. I am proud of her fighting spirit. 
  Next Monday I am going up North to stay with my cousin for a few days and visit my sister. 
As I said, thankful for being able to drive myself. 
       When I got home this afternoon I took the photo as the light had been so beautiful, especially after a chilly murky beginning to the day.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.