Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Autumn gold

I was not on either of the festival walks today. I spent this morning sorting photos I had been sent and making them into online albums of some of the walks this week. It's fun seeing the people on the different walks.

It was a beautiful day, so I had an early lunch and set off to do a short circular from Wark, a village just a few miles north of here. I'm leading a walk from there in 10 days time and this was the beginning.

I had time to potter with the camera and enjoy a couple of babbling brooks with dappled light.

At one point I had the company of a herd of inquisitive bullocks, but they backed off when I asked them too!

I extended the route a bit, but the exciting part was on the return route. I had to descend a very steep woodland hill to the river and then cross it at the "ford". There was no way to cross unless I waded and it was very stony, so I kept my boots on. The alternative was to climb all the way back uphill and do a long detour.

There was that moment when I was about half way over and my boots took in water. It was inevitable. It would be a lovely walk to do regularly, but only in wellies I fear.

I carry a nappy as part of my emergency kit - to use to staunch serious bleeding - but it came in useful to dry my feet. I had spare socks. I squelched back to the car.

Tonight was the Walking Festival Social evening with entertainment by Ian K Brown. Good fun. The food was good but we ate it all, so there was none left for doggie bags. Boo Hoo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.