Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

"I am the Doctor"

Today was the last day of the Haltwhistle Autumn Walking Festival. It's been a brilliant 9 days and the weather has been very kind overall.

I was on the team for an 8 mile circular walk from Allendale. We had good views on the top, although it was quite breezy up there. At the Allen Mill we fully expected to show people how the old lead smelt mill is being restored, but the gates were padlocked. I've checked the website again and it clearly says that it is open on Sundays. A mystery. 

Back in Allendale I spotted this vehicle. It appears to have been on the 2018 Screwball rally around Germany. I thought it was appropriate to blip it today to coincide with the return of The Doctor.

I was concerned because K9 was inside the car and there were no windows open............

After a drink in the Allendale Arms it was back to Haltwhistle to greet the walkers who were on Day 3 of The John Wesley Way (devised by our own Ann Potter and Geoff Chrisp). They were all very happy with the walk.

Gradually the pub emptied and the festival is definitely over - until next Spring that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.