An old road

I walked over to the shops at Riverside at lunchtime, where I met Henry in Hobby craft. We did a bit of shopping then I left him to buy himself a shirt to wear at the weekend. I walked back through all the building works still going on, by the river (so many new multi story buildings) up to King Street. It has a huge amount of history along its length, and this small sign has some interesting facts. King Street once had 26 pubs, including 3 called the Steam Packet. I thought I'd try and do some research and found an interesting website called norfolkpubs.co.uk - I think I will be returning to this site! It lists public and going right back in history, and also has snippets of intetesting information. For example

William Thompson jnr on 12th June 1866 was charged with selling beer during the hours of divine service the previous Sunday. The charges were then dropped upon discovery that those drawing beer were family members preparing for a river trip!

There are also a lot of courts and yards along this stretch of road. I walked slowly back to the office, aching after my weekend of much walking. Very busy at work but still left at 4.30 and met Henry.

We were home by 5.30 with a little bit of daylight left. I watered my plants at the front, then when i was trying to hang my jug back in the tree it fell off into the stream and started to float away!! I rushed in to get my wellies on, and shouted for someone with a torch to come and help me! I just managed to get to it, wading slowly in the sludgy muddy water, by which time I could hardly see. Jon appeared with his phone torch and we located the metal hook I use to hang it up. I'm sure my plants appreciate the streamwater and it's really worth all the messing about. I need to get some nice winter pansies to replace the dying summer bedding plants. Not sure when though!!

I cooked dinner but haven't done anything else. A bit more t.v. then an early night is needed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.