Self indulgence

I like spending money. I don’t mean on the weekly shopping, or filling my car. I’m not filled with joy paying the council tax or mortgage. But I like going in to shops and buying things...often things I don’t necessarily need, but more things I fancy. My favourite charity shop got my custom today (after I’d bought bread, a cucumber and a chilli con carne sachet in Tesco). I bought these 3 vinyl records. I so nearly made it back to the office without going in, but a few new vinyl records in the window drew me in. The good thing is I didn’t venture any further in, especially upstairs where all the bric a brac is. There is always tomorrow for that!

Anyway, these are the three I bought - Art Garfunkel for 50p, a Neil Diamond double album for £1 ( Lynn will be proud of me!) and finally I splashed out on an Elton John album for £2. So £3.50 of pure indulgence..& I don’t even know whether I’ll like all the music yet!! (Obviously, I know some of these artists’ music, but not much)

Home by 6.30. We have revived a letter from the parish clerk offering us the opportunity to move allotment plots to the one next to our previous plot! (They also asked us to tidy our current plot and remove some of the ‘non gardening items’. I hope they mean the rubbish.. and not the chickens! ) It looks like we might be moving again. This plot has been properly managed for about 5 years and the current owners have said they would like someone to take it on and continue their good work. So they have offered it to us. We would be mad not to move. There is a large walk in fruit cage where they have lots of raspberries and strawberries. They are going to leave everything. I’m going to try and sort out a bit down there on Sunday.

Now it’s bake off so I need to go. Kettle’s on..I hope Jon bought cakes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.