Homeward Bound

This is us as we left the train at St Pancras from Canterbury. Now I'm on the train to Cambridge, which unfortunately is standing room only for many. I have a seat and Joanne is behind me, but Karen I think is standing :(. It is a mighty squash. Not pleasant.

Unlike the rest of our day which has been lovely. The nice weather was back this morning, and we were up early. We packed our bags, then headed out to Canterbury, taking a scenic walk along the remaining portions of the Roman walls, and through some quaint streets into the main high street. There we stopped in a lovely restaurant for coffee at about 11.30. The menu for a full roast dinner looked so nice, we booked a table to return at 2pm. We continued to explore other streets we hadn't already seen, I bought a souvenir badge for my camp blanket, and we took a slow walk back to the apartment. There, we gathered our bags and walked back into the city to the restaurant. Another 1600s building with lots of character, and very nice food. We had a lovely roast lamb dinner, lots more chatting, then eventually left for the station. A half hour wait there, but at least we got seats on the train...just. At St Pancras we crossed to Kings Cross and are now on the train to Cambridge. People are standing, solidly through the aisle of the carriage we are in. Apparently the train is 4 carriages too short due to rolling stock shortages!! Not good.

We should be in Cambridge at about 7. Then I have the drive home. I need a snooze really! It's been a lovely weekend, with these two lovely friends of mine, but I have a week of early nights planned, in order to recover in time for another long drive next weekend to Hoddesdon. Can't wait now for a weekend at home when I can rest....in November!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.