Country Life

A glorious day for an outing to Fife. First stop, the new pontoons at Burntisland and a blether with some of the local yachties who were a cheery crew. And the greetings were even warmer at our next port of call which was along at Kinghorn - so warm indeed that we were able to sit out in the sun. Until the lunch gong was sounded of course. 
 I was intending a scenic drive onward for the geographically challenged one, but we stayed and blethered so long (sorrreee!) that we decided to leg it straight via Upper Largo. 
So, the Peat Inn. I still remember my first visit - in the autumn of ’74 - I decided to cycle out there on a beautiful frosty morning and I was the only person there just as they opened the bar up. I happily sat with my beer and read Herman Hesse’s Glass Bead Game. This really is it, I thought. If my 62 year-old self had caught sight of me, he may well have had a different opinion. Or perhaps not. Perhaps he’d just have looked at the young man and nodded indulgently, though he’d probably (wisely) have told me to lose the tank top.
Anyway, the place is of course famous now for its restaurant with rooms, and deservedly so - it really was quite quite excellent. Three fish courses though - whoah! And all terrific. And afterwards they even put a log on the fire for us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.