Appearances can be Deceptive

Too beautiful for the soup and possibly too poisonous.

Answering a late knock on the door last night revealed my young neighbour holding a bunch of flowers for His Lordship and me. I was, shall I say, gobsmacked because not a crumb of banana cake had changed hands to warrant such extravagance. On mulling it over, we came to the conclusion that she felt sorry for us having to stay in Edinburgh over the midterm holiday while she and the family were spending time in Perthshire before flying to Boston for a week. Certainly the weather today would make anyone want to go any where other than staying put as Callum wrecks his vengeance on us.

My new shopping trolley was blown aloft as I took it for its first official outing today. It was a coincidence that a friend whom I met for coffee earlier in the morning appeared with her shopping trolley. We must have looked a little incongruous as we competed with the gale and the students exiting their 10 am classes in George Square to keep our trolleys on terra firma and arrive intact at our goal of the local Lidl.

Once there, I was hoping to get all the vegetables I needed more cheaply and arrive home without arms twice as long as normal from carrying heavy bags.
In the event I was disappointed in Lidl’s selection and I had to go to Tesco next door to find everything, but my trolley behaved brilliantly with the load. I feel I should name it, but I haven’t decided on its gender. Any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.