biddy

By biddy

Doughnut. The cat next door.

When our lovely 16 year old cat Tiger, sadly had to be taken to the vet the other week,  just after we came home from our holiday in Crete, the house felt very quiet. 
We miss him very much. He was such a character. 
However, the strange thing is, or maybe not as the case may be, his arch enemy Doughnut, began to follow me around the garden when I went outside. 
He is not a "people" cat like Tiger used to be, and although you can stroke him once, as he miaows at you, and purrs around your ankles, that is as much as he will tolerate. 
    Then he will nip you. 
Yet, he has taken to sitting on our patio step by the window and looking in, as well as waiting by the kitchen door and if it is standing open, wanders in as if he is looking for something.
    Cats are very sensitive. 
Many is the time when Tiger has known even before I got out his pet carrier, that something was going to happen. He would disappear unless we closed all the outer doors and the door to the loft bedroom, as he could hide under the beds up there! It was then very hard to fish him out!
     I remember having to phone the vet one day to cancel his appointment, and reschedule as he had skedaddled over the fence into next door's garden. 
    The receptionist was very amused, as she told me that was the third call that morning about the same situation!  Other cats having had the same idea! 
   As for Doughnut, he was there again this morning sitting by the patio window looking in.
      The main photo is Doughnut when I found him one afternoon last week sitting on our front room windowsill. As we have had warm sunny weather up to recently, it is very rare that I have the the back door, leading to the garden, closed.  
       Obviously we will not feed him. His owners both work during the day, going out after breakfast and returning late afternoon. Their two children are now in their final, and second year at University, respectively. So there is no-one in the house now throughout working hours.
The extra photo is Tiger, who always came to find me when I was painting in the loft bedroom. 
     He used to come and perch nearby.
It was taken as I painted a picture for a young lady who had asked me if I would mind doing one for her, she was an intern with our church youth programme over from Minnesota for a year. We got to know her really well. 
    So I did the painting, (always hoping it would be alright!) then had a print made to take back with her. 
    I have not done many since, but usually at this time of year, paint a picture for my Christmas cards. 
     Too many other things going on here at the moment!  
               

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.