Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ponteland Photographic Society

I spent most of today finishing off my presentation for tonight's meeting of Ponteland Photo Club. It was entitled "In Search of Henri Cartier Bresson" and was from the trip I made to Sifnos in 2016. Nearly all the images were in mono and I did an introduction about Cartier Bresson and his life in photography.

He said that he had the camera to hand all day, except when he was shaving in the mornings!

There is a lovely documentary of his work with his words on YouTube. It is called the Decisive Moment. Another is an interview with Agnes Sire who at the time was the director of the Cartier Bresson Foundation. Both are fascinating.

My talk started badly because the programme I had used for the presentation would not open on first one, then another laptop. I had not taken mine with me, but won't make that mistake again. A third, elderly laptop was produced and it worked. By then we were 15 minutes in. I had about 12 prints with me, but that was never going to last the evening out.

I recovered my composure and the talk went ahead. The members of the club are a friendly lot and were responsive when I invited them to join in the discussion.

This afternoon, Jenny and Dennis came for a cuppa. They were recently on a National Trust Cruise of the west coast of England and Scotland. Sadly they could not land on St Kilda, due to the swell, but they had a good time overall.

Tomorrow is a day of rest!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.