Salmon leaping

This morning it was my turn to make the coffee at U3A so when I'd finished I left before the speaker started as I had to go across the road to the park where the bowling shield was being presented.

About six years ago Cae Glas Park bowling green was under threat of being dug up and the ground made into an extension  of the children's playground. A lot of us in U3A were opposed to this so a couple of bowlers set up a session there every Friday and a lot of we beginners joined. The council relented and the green was saved.

We all enjoy our bowling but it's for fun and not in a league. Four years ago an insurance company donated a shield for us to compete for in pairs. F took to bowling very well and has been a winner three out of the four years (with different partners). He's lucky that he didn't draw me as his partner!!

The shield was presented by someone from the insurance company. The mayor was supposed to do it but she didn't turn up. The extra photo is of F and his partner receiving it together with one of the runners up.

The photographer from the local paper was there and took photos including one of the whole group as well as the winners. I'd asked him to take a group one with my camera and he did so at lightning speed befor taking lots of time, trouble and shots with his own.  When I looked at the photo on my camera he had cut our feet off but included a large piece of the pavilion roof. I was very surprised at this from a professional - perhaps he didn't want mine to be better than his!!

Afterwards we went to see the salmon jumping up the River Tanat. This time I took a longer lens and took this photo. It's not very sharp but the best that I managed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.