Strawhouse

By strawhouse

All At Sea

We had a day at sea today. And what a fabulous day it was!!
Our pre-breakfast breakfast arrived at 7am. Fruit salad, hot chocolate, pastries, bacon, cornflakes with full fat milk and sugar (whoop, whoop my guilty pleasure on holiday!!), muesli, melon and toast. Mmmmmmm!!!!!
Then, after a fair bit of faffing - and jumping from the bunk beds onto the enormous bouncy kingsize bed - it was up to the Lido for actual breakfast.
We've never had a problem finding a table before - tables for two are easy enough to find.
Tables for four not so much!!
After fifteen minutes of aimlessly wandering around glaring at people and sending out f**k off and let us have your table vibes I was proper cross. I love breakfast in the Lido and just wanted to sit down and enjoy it.
Eventually we gave up, went through to the Garden Lounge planning to get a table and then take our food through.
I was nearly in tears by this point - which nearly three weeks later, I admit was a bit of an over reaction but I was soooooooooo looking forward to it and it was like torture watching everybody else on the whole bloody ship stuffing their faces and hogging the tables.
Miss E went off to get some food and came charging back in a few minutes saying that she'd got a table and had asked the lady (Cunard employee!!) to guard it for her while she went to get her Mummy!! Apparently there had been a man who'd got cross with her and tried to steal the table but she held her ground and it was ours. I've never been prouder of her!!!!
After that things took a massive upward turn. Unlimited breakfast while cruising past the Cornish coast which was looking beautiful in the sunshine. And hogging our wonderful table!!
After breakfast the Little Misses went into the pool. They loved it!! It was a bit breezy on deck so I got a bit cold watching them. After half an hour wrapped in a towel I decided it would be more sensible to get into the hot tub and watch them from there. With a piña colada!!!
They joined me after a while and loved drinking their "mojitos" in there. So funny!!
We got changed for lunch - Miss L was giddy with her individual custom made pizza. She was less giddy when she went to the gluten free section and discovered the cookies were finished but I sent her to ask the man for more and he gave her a huge catering pack of Doves Farm chocolate chip cookies. She was over the moon!!!
I went to see The Greatest Showman in the theatre later in the afternoon. The Little Misses didn't fancy it so they went back to the cabin for naps (Mr K) and iPads (them!) I LOVED seeing the film on the big screen, I've only seen it on the laptop in the camper when we were in France over the Summer.
I collected the rest of my family from the cabin and we went up on deck. We saw dolphins woohoo!!!!! Then we played table tennis. Which went a bit pear shaped. Miss E wanted to do it properly - serving and scoring according to the proper rules. The rest of us were happy just to attempt to hit it back and forth over the net. Bless her, Miss E tried so hard to just have fun and not worry about the rules but it's hard for her. And she knows she's putting a downer on everyone else!!
And we were all completely rubbish which wound her up. She doesn't like not being good at things.
In the end I may have stropped off because it was all a bit fraught. Sigh. 
Miss E stayed with Daddy and they played properly and by all accounts she did much better.
Miss L and I went up to the top deck and had many, many games of Quoits. It was so funny, Miss L doesn't have the best aim!
Then it was cocktails and mocktails in the Commodore and then time to change for dinner. 
Time goes so fast between meals!!
It was gala night tonight and the Little Misses looked so beautiful. I felt proper proud walking down to dinner with them! And Mr K scrubs up pretty nicely too!! See extras.
Dinner was much better tonight. Last night the Head Waiter came and showed us tonight's menu so Miss L could choose what she wanted and they could make any alterations to recipes as required. As luck would have it she chose two dishes which are gluten free anyway - prawn and mango salad to start followed by lamb. Delicious!!
Miss E had a hot dog again and they both ate their body weight in ice cream!!
The Little Misses thought it was hilarious that as we were finishing up I happened to mention that I wanted nothing more than to get back to the room so I could take my pants off. Miss L helpfully suggested that I wear bigger ones which would be more comfy!!! I didn't explain that they are fat pants which were pretty much cutting me in two by now!!
Back to our cabin for turndown chocolates and bed. They were asleep in record time again. 
What a great day!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.