PINKTOBER 19 AND BREAKFAST AT THE FOOD GALLERY

When I first got up this morning, it was quite misty, but I did go out into the garden to take a few shots of the pink flowers that are still blooming.  The sun soon burnt off the mist, so I thought it would be good to catch the bus over to Marlborough;  Mr. HCB said that his gardening could wait - as could the housework - so off we went.  It only takes about 20 minutes on the bus, and as we get free travel, it is much cheaper than taking the car.

As always, when we arrive in Marlborough, our first stop is The Food Gallery, our favourite independent café, where we ordered two coffees, a decaffeinated one for me, and two rounds of white toast.  Before you say anything, I know that white bread isn’t really good for you, but we don’t do it that often, so I am going with the phrase “A little bit of what you fancy, does you good!”  None of that thin bread that tastes like cardboard in The Food Gallery - here it is thick and chunky and even served in a toast rack, which makes all the difference.  I had butter and honey with mine and Mr. HCB had strawberry jam - a good start to the day.  There is always a good atmosphere in this café and even though you may not know the other customers, everyone is so friendly - and of course, the staff are all wonderful and always seem to be smiling.

Olive and Dave, some friends of ours, obviously saw us through the window, so came in for a chat then when they left I noticed the HotChocSpoons “All Time Favourites” with bright pink writing.  I asked Richard, the Manager, if he would mind if I did a bit of rearranging, and as he was quite happy, here is my Blip for BCAM Day 19.  In case anyone is wondering, apparently, you warm some milk and then carefully dunk one of the HotChocSpoons into it and stir. I didn’t buy any, they would be too tempting, but they do sound delicious - I see they do many flavours including gin and lemon and champagne - perhaps I will treat myself next time!  

We then went for a wander along the High Street.  Outside the Crew Clothing Company, I saw several large pieces of coated board, between two bins, obviously out for recycling.  They looked just the right size for jigsaw puzzles, and were fairly thick so I went in to ask if we could take a few.  I spoke to Bethany, who said we were welcome to take as many as we liked and when I explained what we were going to use them for, she was delighted as she said they were going to be recycled anyway.  She even put them in a large bag and put them at the back of the store until we came back - how very kind of her.  

When we went back to collect the boards, I thanked her again and gave her one of my little hearts, which she was thrilled about as she said she collects hearts - should have asked her if she was any relation of HeartFreek!  They were rather awkward to carry, but Mr. HCB was my hero, and carried them without complaining - then we went back along to catch the bus home.  All in all, a great morning and I got my pink Blip too, so I’m happy!  Once we got home, I spread the boards out - see my extra - they will be useful for backdrops for me too, as well as for doing jigsaw puzzles - I think HarlingDarling would be happy to have some of these too - and all it took was me asking and a little kindness from Bethany!

Please join me during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking here
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

“Life is short 
     and we have never too much time 
          for gladdening the hearts of those 
               who are travelling the dark journey with us. 
Oh be swift to love, 
     make haste to be kind.” 
Henri-Frédéric Amiel : 1821-1881
Swiss Moral Philosopher and Poet

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.