Blackpool Illuminations

I slept in bits. Was hot at one point so fought out of my sleeping bag, only to have to scrabble about in the dark at about 3am when I was cold, to get back into it. I was wide awake at about 4am for some time, but that was probably because we went to sleep at 9 and my body knew it had had it's 7 hours.

It was a beautiful morning, and at 8 we were up properly, and i cooked bacon for breakfast. Bacon roll, oj and a nice cup of tea. Then we drove over to Salford to pick up Mollie and Josh. Then about an hours drive to Blackpool.

It wasn't too bad, we arrived about midday. Now, we have never been to Blackpool before and i'd got it into my head that while Mollie is in Salford we should get there to see the lights. That was the purpose of today. We did LOTS of walking. About 5 hours worth I think. We explored all 3 piers, watched people on all the fairground and pleasure beach attractions, had fish and chips on the beach, spent 2ps in the amusement arcades, watched the trams, kids having donkeys rides, ate doughnuts and collected pebbles on the beach (well the pebbles bit was just me, while they all sat and watched). The lights came on at 6 and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset over the sea. Henry has the best phone so managed to get us all in with the tower lit up behind us.

It's been a lovely but tiring day. We've been to Blackpool now and I don't think we need to return. Head south to Salford now to drop off M and J then to our field. Looking forward to my bed. Well, you know. Roll mat and sleeping bag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.