TAFFY

MONDAY MORNING.

My flight from Boston landed in Dublin at 4.29am.  As my onward flight to Newcastle wasn't due to depart until 9am I decided to go to the Aer Lingus Lounge for a bite to eat and to use the wifi.  There was a buffet with a good selection of breakfast items to choose from.  The lounge was quite busy but there was plenty of seating.

After breakfast I made my way to my departure gate and after a while there was an announcement - flight delayed by 1 hour.  Not what I wanted to hear but I managed to fill the time by reading my book.

So the flight to Newcastle departed at 10am and arrived in Newcastle at 11.25am.  My suitcase was one of the first to appear on the belt and I got a taxi quickly - so I was back home by 12.10pm.

Tino and Lily were so excited to see me.  Lots of cuddles and they were both very vocal.  ( probably telling me off for leaving them ).  They have been very  clingy  since I got home.  The " Cat Ladies " leave a daily log of what happens while they are visiting and the recurrent theme is that Tino is very chatty and loves being fussed with.  On the other hand Lily was only seen once when she was outside in the enclosure and the " Cat Lady " had to open the patio door so that Lily could dash past her and run upstairs to safety.


I have felt tired today as I haven't had a proper sleep since Saturday night - but I knew I wouldn't sleep if I went to bed too early.  So I have kept myself busy - I have unpacked my suitcase, put a load of washing on and caught up on some TV viewing.

After the excitement of the last 11 days when I took loads of interesting shots every day I had to put my thinking cap on today to find a suitable blip.  I decided to blip this pack of Salt Water Taffy which I bought in Mystic.  (  I first tried this type of taffy  when Betsey and Trish bought some in Cape Cod last year. )

Salt water taffy is a variety of soft taffy originally produced and marketed in the Atlantic City area of the Jersey Shore starting in the 1880s. ( In England we would call the taffies chews ) The original invention of the candy has several different stories circulating -  one relates to an assistant who substituted fresh water with sea water—either through laziness or accident.  Another cites a storm which caused ocean water to wash over the candy, which was consequently marketed with the appropriate name.   Salt water taffy is composed of sugar, cornstarch,corn syrup, glycerine, water, butter, salt, colouring and flavouring. Despite its name, the taffy contains no salt water ( seawater ) but does contain both salt and water.

Its 2am now and I really don't feel tired at all.  But I will go to bed in a short while  I think as I'm sure that tiredness will hit me very soon.

Thanks for all the lovely comments of my blips while I have been away.  I  tried to keep up with all of your blips but it was a losing battle.  Hopefully I will catch up over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.