The Quarry

My brother lives in a tiny village in North Wales. Just a hamlet really - at the end of the road at the end of the valley.
We've been coming here since we were both tiny and now I bring my own children back. It's a special place.
This is the disused quarry which is the reason the houses were built in the middle of nowhere. I remember collecting slate here as a child and scrambling about on all the exciting rocks.
Miss E and Miss L carried on the tradition today and we all had a lovely walk.
Today with the swirling clouds and mists it reminded me of Machu Picchu!!
Amazingly Miss E remembered that this time last year we saw a bauble on one of the Christmas trees up there and remembered that we'd said we'd decorate it next year.
So we did!! And we went one better with tinsel and multiple baubles. I love the fact that it's up there now looking pretty for the sheep!
Apart from our walk they played in the river at the bottom of my brother's garden for a bit - lots of stone throwing and splashing, petted the Welsh mountain ponies, swung on the swings and generally had a lovely time!
The day was finished off nicely by a scrummy birthday dinner of ridiculously huge steaks from the local butcher - with chips, garlic mushrooms and onion rings. Fab!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.