To Hull and Back!

Up bright and early(ish) today to get ready to head over to Hull for the first test of a three match series between England and New Zealand.

The rain lashed down all the way over to Hull, but dried up once we arrived. It was still absolutely freezing cold though! The tickets I won were for the most expensive seats so of course we had a cracking view of the game.

The atmosphere at Rugby League internationals is often more subdued than at club games, and I'm usually pretty neutral as to who I want to win. Many of my favourite players play for New Zealand - some being top stars of the sport whom I have only seen play on TV before. And the England team has a few players from rival club sides to the one I support who tend to grind my gears! (I daresay that everyone who is a fan of a club side would be irked by at least one member of the international side!)

It was a very close game though, and England managed a narrow victory 18 points to 16. In the last 10-15 minutes or so, the atmosphere really did improve and people got behind England properly! I'm hoping New Zealand will win the next one (which we won't be at!) so that it is all to play for when we go to the third and final one at Leeds. We bought tickets for that one, so we will be in the cheap seats again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.