Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Waiting on line

By the time I get back from Costa Rica the Montauk Diner will most likely be closed for the season, taking with it the abundance of pollinator-patrons.  Even now, the blossoms are looking ragged, having provided food for beetles and katydids who favor the white petals.  Still, the remaining flowers, tattered though they are, are abuzz with bees, flies, cucumber beetles and these lovely delicate Ailanthus Webworm Moths.  And, waiting in the wings for a seat at the nectar bar, a tiny hoverfly (in the Genus Toxomerus).  

I'm now in a frenzy of pre-packing.  Still not sure if everything is going to fit into my smaller pullman or if I'll have to drag out a bigger bag.  And still not sure what I am carrying on aside from the smallest pullman with camera gear.  May take the camera backpack as my extra carry on...or maybe not.  One thing is for certain, by 1 PM tomorrow, the bags will be packed and in the car, headed to Newark.  

Meanwhile, I'm glad I blipped all those finch shots when I had the chance because all the Purple Finches and Pine Siskins are gone now.  Yesterday there were only a couple of Purple finches at the feeders and today...none.  Not surprising as this is typical behavior during an irruptive year.  Good possibility they will be back at some point this winter, hopefully.  For now, though, it makes Hubs' job of tending to the feeders while I am gone quite a lot easier!

I'll be doing an early blip tomorrow as I won't get into CR until well into the evening.  

cheers!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.