Arnison & Sons, Penrith

I enjoyed a wander around Penrith this morning before Mr hazelh and I caught our train home to Edinburgh. I know that I have been to Penrith before, but it is so long ago that I had no memory of the town centre at all. Here there are some very well-preserved old buildings, and quite a few traditional businesses.

I was very taken by the signage outside N. Arnison and Sons' drapery. I was even more impressed to discover that the two brothers who currently run the shop are the seventh generation of the family in charge of the business.

Back home in Edinburgh, Mr hazelh and I unpacked, popped out to Tesco to buy provisions (LIDL is closed for refurbishment), returned to the library the book that I finished on the train home (a biography of Josephine Tey by Jennifer Morag Henderson), put on a couple of loads of the washing, packed for work tomorrow, made paella for supper, and spoke to my mother on the phone for the daily update on my father.

We've had a fun few days away, but it is so nice to be home again.

Exercise today: walking (18,023 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.