Raising my Spirits

You may have had your suspicions but here before you is the evidence. I have developed a penchant for spirits. I am one of those old ladies clutching a bus pass in one hand and a shopping bag in the other who enters the local supermarket two days on the trot to buy a bottle of brandy and quickly secrete it in her bag. With the deed done, she scurries home, head down, to be a user.

No alcoholic am I; I don’t even like the taste of brandy, but my Christmas cakes do, and over the following weeks I will pander to their requirements. They will become very expensive boozy Christmas cakes and render anyone eating them over the limit for driving.

The worst thing about the whole buying experience was the fact that no one wanted to check my ID to see if I was over 18.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.