Still Life with Pears

With the making a Christmas cake urge exhausted and the results stored in their boxes saturated with alcohol vapour, it was time to turn my domesticity to watering thirsty plants and changing the water in two vases of flowers. In doing this I rearranged things to put these lilies in a separate vase and disturbed the feathery foliage so much that the little needles covered every surface in the dining room and kitchen not forgetting the floors. What started as a five minute job turned into a minor spring clean.

While the house looked like the work area in a florist’s shop, I had a great chin wag with Poppy in Orkney...... well my chin wagged and Poppy listened. She is so good at listening, bless her and I have a bad habit of hogging the chin wagging.

Now it’s off to find a shop that sells loose vegetables rather than prepacked ones containing far to many of any one thing for my purpose. I want 2 carrots, 2 courgettes and 2 parsnips, not a large bag of each. Good old St Michael will give me what I want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.