If Only

If only these were black grapes and not Virginia Creeper berries, I would have my own winery. Yesterday’s hours of heavy rain certainly had an effect on the leaves of bushes and trees stripping them off to lie thickly and soggily on the patio and surrounding paths.

But today the sun shone as if atoning for the past few days. For me, it was Christmas cake making day. For once, no ingredients were forgotten but just after I put the cake in the oven, I noticed the brown paper lying on the worktop. Cue, get the cake back out of the oven and tie the brown paper round the tin. Then it was time to lick the bowls and beaters since there were no little people waiting to do that for me.

The cake was in the oven for 6 hours at a fairly low temperature so I’m daring it to sink now that it’s out. My extra was taken before it had a chance. On the other hand, it might be too dry but the brandy bottle will correct that over the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.