The Dreaming Spires of Heriot’s

Do not think for an instant that our early morning pilgrimage to the Temple of Toast is without penance. Today this was, despite sunshine and a blue sky, a bone chilling temperature of 2° feeling like - 1°.

It was difficult to admire the golden glow on the city buildings while power walking to lessen the cold seeping through pervious clothing, but I did stop long enough to blip the dreaming towers of George Heriot’s School as His Lordship and I passed.

I have just read in a Sunday paper that a relative of El Niña, La Niña is set to bring us the coldest winter for 7 years. If that is the case, the thought of slipsliding for months on pavements impacted with snow and ice , designed to give me a hip replacement should I fall on my antique bones, is not a welcome one.
My shoe crampons have lain unused in the wardrobe since 2010, but may have to be taken out and dusted in the next month or two.
Hopefully though, this forecastmay be just another fashionable example of ‘fake news’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.