The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Lunar Sea

I thought this was going to be another blipless day...and it was. Then the full moon emerged as the clouds peeled back. I have to say I find the moon the hardest thing of all to photograph:

* When you live in Cumbria it is usually obscured by clouds
* You have to use a tripod
* The autofocus on my Nikon can be difficult to use for the moon, and my eyesight is so lousey I can't focus it on manual
* It's so much brighter than everything else that everything else disappears into a massive black hole around it: this took a bit of fiddling with exposure to show the clouds, and the sort of halo
* And it moves, requiring repeated fiddling with the tripod to track it and with settings to ensure correct exposure and focus - head torch essential

A challenge to a lazy photographer. Some blippers are so good at it.

Anyway, when I was fiddling about, I was reminded of watching Camel on a couple of occasions in the University College Cardiff Student Union hall in about 1978. Maybe a bit dated now, but I still love Moonmadness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.