Beyond the Deepening Shadow...The Tower remembers

This Remembrance Sunday is a special one as it marks the hundreth anniversary since the end of the First World War.  In 2014 the Tower of London marked the hundreth anniversary of the start of this conflict with Paul Cummins' incredible art installation of thousands of ceramic poppies.  This year The Tower remembers again with Beyond the Deepening Shadow, an astonishing display of thousands of individual flames, lit each night for a week between 5pm and 9pm, concluding today, Armistice Day.



I and Zeus09smum had intended to visit last night but torrential rain put us off (although not my son, who braved the elements) so tonight it was.  I'd like to say that getting the crowds into and moving around the display was well organised, but initially it wasn't.  It was dreadful and some folk were really quite unpleasant.  No matter, after an hour (ish) we were in and caught up in the drama of this spectacle.  Part way round, because my friend still needs a crutch to walk, we were able to enter an area closer to the moat, accessible only to those needing a bit more care moving around and here we were able to get much better shots.  Unfortunately for me, my camera battery died not long after, so I had to resort to my mobile.  My main shot shows one of the beefeaters and his shadow and just how smoky those little lamps got!  My extras are phone shots, one showing the Shard just behind The Tower, such a contrast with a thousand years between the building of one and the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.