More research

Work today was a regular busy day. I got in for 8 as I knew I’d have a bit extra to do with 2 colleagues on leave. I didn’t get as much done as I would have liked, but that is often the way. At lunchtime I made a Christmas present purchase. The first of many I hope, but glad to have got started.

We got home at 6 and Jon had cooked tea. I am so lucky...he washed up too. I have carried on with my research and am pleased to now know that my two great uncles were both awarded (posthumously) the 1914 Star, the Victory Medal and the British War Medal. It is just sad that they never knew. I also found an extract from a ledger showing payment of a War Gratuity to the mother of Donald John Ketteringham. Elizabeth Ketteringham received £5 in 1919. No replacement for a son. How much would that be now?

There is so much information on the internet that I can’t access because the websites charge so much. This info about the War Gratuity I found last night, but today when I’ve gone in, it wants me to upgrade to premium membership to access it. Very annoying. It is nice when I find little bits though, and there are lots of other free websites with general information about the different battles and regiments. An interesting way to spend a few hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.