REMEMBRANCE POPPY DRESS

I decided to go to the Metrocentre this afternoon.  Had a couple of things I needed and once they were " in the bag " I just mooched round the shops with no real plan. 

I came across this beautiful dress in the Green Mall.  There was an information board and I found out that the dress was designed by local designer Leigh Hetherington who created it to commemorate one hundred years since the end of the First World War.  The stunning dress which took 250 hours to complete  is made from black taffeta and black tulle and each of the 117 poppies is individually handmade from red silk tulle, with black Swarovski crystal beaded centres. The poppies are wrapped around the body to give the effect of a poppy wreath.

The dress is up for auction and the money will be donated to the Royal British Legion.  At the moment the highest BID is £620 with 15 days to go.

My brother John and sister in law Virginia have arrived in Perth to stay with their daughter Sharon, her husband Kyle and their little boy Mason.  It's Johns 64th birthday today and he loved spending it with Mason.  The last time John and Virginia saw Mason he was only a few weeks old - now he's 14 months old.  I have added a couple of photos in my Extras of John and Mason.  Mason is so cute.  


Steps today - 7,218

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.