A time for everything

By turnx3

Christmas cake!

Wednesday
Another cold, dull and dreary day, so a good day to be inside, mixing up the Christmas cake - not quite as early as I meant too, but almost a couple of weeks earlier than last year! Once it was in the oven, cooking slowly for 4 3/4 hours, we had some lunch, then I went off to the gym to work out. When I returned, I was greeted by the wonderful aroma coming from the kitchen! It smelled great, it looks great, so hopefully it will taste good too, especially after it’s been “fed” a few times with some more brandy!! However, as I was getting it out of the oven, and anticipating the coming holidays of Thanksgiving and Christmas, they were talking on the news about the dreadful devastating wildfires in California, and my heart was heavy for the many many people who won’t have much to celebrate this year - having lost their home and virtually all their belongings, and for some, even worse, having lost family members or friends.
Thankful today for a roof over our heads, and wonderful smells from the kitchen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.