Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Seed Seeker

I haven't been feeling very well the last three days so I haven't had much of an opportunity to wander.  This female and her hubby were messing with me for most of the day.  Each flew in, snagged a seed, then vamoosed at the speed of light.  Of all my attempts to snatch a shot, this was the only usable one.

I was glad that I wasn't going out because  it was the coldest day since March and rip-roaring windy.  I've been so incredibly busy that I haven't gotten around to putting two plants in the ground.  One is called a Firecracker, the other is a fairy Duster.  They both attract hummingbirds, mostly in the spring.  I'm going to try to find a small bag of peat moss (they usually come in 20 lb, bags) and get them planted pronto.  They should have gone in two weeks ago so I'm hoping that they'll survive. Both are native plants so if they do survive the initial planting, it may be really difficult for me to kill them.  There's a reason I only have succulents in my yard!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.