Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Eastlake and Louisa

Eastlake #1
This is in response to Kendall's group forum thread titled "one street". If you are interested, go read how she got the idea. I'm choosing a street a few blocks from my home in Seattle, because 1)I've already been doing this for some of the photos or sketches from photos for our local newsletter and 2) there are changes coming up (controversy as to whether a streetcar could run down this corridor...)and 3) it appeals to me. The challenge will be good photography. (this is better large) Started today at this hub, looking south. The bus to downtown stops at this corner. Or, across the street going north, to the UW. Louisa's cafe is the neighborhood coffee shop - I have had MANY after rowing breakfasts here. Tookie and I had our first blipmeet here. The grandchildrn have consumed many of their cookies over the years. Lake Union Mail, the little shop to the right behind the colored tree, is the hub of the neighborhood goings on, and the handy post office. I've just now mailed 2 postcards to wendles56
Also ran into the neighborhood activist there who asked about the camera on a dark rainy afternoon, and was delighted to hear about the project.

I'd love to also do the same for the street on the other side of where I live, which runs next to the lake as a very different "country lane". Might just informally do Fairview too. Just every now and then. Over a long time. Might start a flickr set for each, but will just start tagging today. Will see if this works.

Oh dear Kendall, look what you've started! and you didn't want any more time on the computer! :-)

Edit: A few weeks ago, blipper friend MIkeday posted a portrait of the owner of Lake Union Mail HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.