If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Columba palumbus

Wood Pigeon, the bird I grew up calling a Cushat.   In those days I spoke my first language - Cumbrian.   I remember once being down fishing on the River Ellen and the "Beck watcher" (I think the correct title was water bailiff the man who checked licences)came along.  After checking our licences he asked about some people he had seen us talking to.  Oh they were off Cushat shooting we told him.   He must have been "an off comer" as his reply was shooting what!?

This one is a regular to our feeding station.  Another change since I was a boy.  Wood Pigeons not all that long ago were as their name suggests birds of woods and away from people.  Over recent decades they have moved into urban parks and gardens and become much less scared of people.

This is yet another through the window shot, the sun was catching it nicely so - click.

Many thanks to all who took the trouble to visit my 5 year blip yesterday and particular thanks to anybody who took the time to comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.