Outmanoeuvred

A trip in to the woods on the military land near Frimley. It was a bit disconcerting to see myself being outflanked by a squad of soldiers in camouflage, charging through the woods. Even more worrying when I came out on to a track, was to see a man about 100 yards ahead, prone behind a machine gun, covering the track. I know we're on the same side; all the same, I decided my best strategy was retreat.

The land is quite popular with dog walkers and it seems that some in the military have decided it's just a tad too popular, so gates went up in the summer, barring some of the approaches and a well-used lay-bye was sealed off. I don't blame them. It lacks authenticity to have a Jack Russell come up to you with a stick when you're preparing for war in Afghanistan. Or maybe it doesn't. All the same I think it's best to leave them to it. They're doing a tough job out there and it's easy to forget by our cosy fire sides that, however remote it seems, we are a country at war.

Certainly there's no hint of it in this image as the sun streams in to what seems such a peaceful wood. Just as well you can't hear the orders and the shouting. What a beautiful morning it was. Nice in B&W too. Writing now the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.