Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

A Sea of Windfalls

I went into Cambridge with our daughter this morning and then after having coffee in her office, got a taxi to Addenbrookes to collect the car, which I had left there overnight. Then on the way home I stopped in Saffron Walden to collect the rest of my husband’s medication, which they did not have in stock when we collected the rest.
 
I spent the rest of the day standardising the marking and had hoped to finish today; I still have two to complete.
   
It has been cold, dull and miserable, with some rain at times, just like November should be. Today’s picture was taken through the kitchen window and shows a male Reeves Muntjac clearing the windfalls. The Fallow deer have not been for a while, but hopefully they will return very soon to help this one eat the windfalls. We do not usually have to clear them ourselves, but I suspect, because of the mild weather we have had that they are feasting elsewhere and will visit again when that food supply runs out. I watched as this one walked away, it had great difficulty walking over the apples. There are a great many more apples in the orchard than can be seen in the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.