Trauma

One of those days. 

In the morning I got soaked walking from the car park to the office - an unexpected shower of hailstones. Yup, the umbrella was in the car.

At work there was a bit of an “atmosphere” as a result of a colleague’s antics on Monday. Mostly I just get my head down and become hyper productive in these situations, but it is still less than ideal. 

Then, just as I was about to escape for lunch a constituent phoned and talked me through his daughter’s murder. Was it 33 times she was stabbed? I got all the details. 

Fortunately my brief stint as a prosecutor many decades years ago got me used to a bit of blood and guts on my desk (metaphorically). I remember one set of crime scene photos falling out of the file onto my desk - the man's intestines had been liberated by a sawn off shotgun at close range. 

Anyway, today's lunch break was even more of a recovery session than usual. 

The afternoon was an anticlimax, thank goodness, with time to write letters to the Justice Secretary and the First Minister about the murder case. 

The Blip is just my brief glimpse of daylight heading back to work after lunch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.