Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

His Royal Redness

It really wasn't any question as to today's Blip since there were 3 glorious male Cardinals out in the yard this morning, flashing their fresh plumage and looking so...red.  Like titmice, they are a reliable daily visitor in our garden, making them an easy blip.  

I did actually, for the briefest of moments, think I was going to finally be able to blip a Northern Flicker.  I glanced out the window around lunchtime and saw one sitting on the deck railing - totally shocking the heck out of me.  Although I often see/hear them in our woods, I've never had one get near the feeders.  I immediately went into uber-stealth mode to get my camera, willing to settle for a shot through the window.  Got the camera, got it nearly up to my eye...and he flew.  DARNIT!  Well, maybe another day.

It's a very gloomy day so we've got the fire blazing and I've got a nice beef stew in the crock pot for later.  Good day to stay in and edit some more photos from my CR trip.  

Happy Saturday from the Red Birds and I.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.