But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Junk Mail.

I really get rather annoyed at the amount of waste paper that comes through our letter box and wonder just how many trees have to die to produce the stuff. This particular specimen was an offer to obtain a refund for when I was (allegedly) mis-sold PPI, a.k.a. Payment Protection Insurance. On the basis that insurance companies exist for the sole purpose of making money out of punters, I try very hard to avoid them. Many years ago, I worked out that a pet dog was only expensive for the last few months of its life and you pay dearly for a decade or more to have someone else pay for that short expensive period. The exception is, of course, if you opt to shell out for a pedigree animal (as have a few friends) which is likely to have a short life full of medical complications. One only has to watch an episode of “Super Vet” to appreciate both that a single episode is more than enough for a single life-time and that the previous sentence is reasonably accurate. It was interesting to hear our vet condemning the bulldog as a breed and extolling the virtues of the Jack Russell as the only pedigree dog that gave value for money.
 
But back to the plot: I received a letter today inviting me to employ a company, who don’t even put their name on the reply paid envelope, to obtain compensation for a historic fraud to which I may, or may not, have been a victim. I’m not quite sure what tipped me over the edge in this case but, having made sure that there was nothing on the documentation to connect it with myself, I neatly packed it all into the return envelope ready to post next time I’m away from home. Had I also received a letter from a double glazing company, Mr PPI would have received lots of useful information about window replacement and the window people would have learnt all about PPI claims. Just think, if everybody did this, the cost of opening all those envelopes would quickly stop these people sending the rubbish out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.