Selfie...

...sort of, albeit an old one. This is my mom and I, taken on Christmas Eve., 1951, at my grandparent's home. I was 11 months old, to the day. Today would have been my mom's 90th birthday. She died 11 years, 36 days ago of lung cancer. As she began to need more help, my brothers, sister and I all rearranged our schedules so that one of us was always with her. Being an independent woman she hated having to rely on us, but there's nothing that we wouldn't have done for her, because there's nothing that she wouldn't have done for any one of us! . She was, quite simply,  the best mother anyone could have had, & even after all these years, there's rarely a day I don't think of her and miss her. Her death left a huge empty place in my heart! 
Thanks to 60Plus for hosting MonoMonday this month, and for the theme of "empty". :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.