Journey Through Time

By Sue

New Baby Elephant

Okay, here's the deal. I thought I'd take the day off, but I found something I wanted to blip, so I'm baaaacccck. And thank you so much for all the wonderful comments yesterday and for putting my image in Spotlight for a short period of time. Always fun.

This is taken off of the TV, so not that great of an image, but we are celebrating the birth of a new Asian elephant born at the Portland Zoo. The Portland zoo has a long history with bringing baby elephants into the world, starting with Packy born April 14, 1962, the first elephant born in the Western Hemisphere in 44 years.

This little girl tips the scales at 300 pounds and she is strong and healthy. The mother, Rose-tu, had her first baby, a boy, a few years ago, and it took her 4 days to accept her baby. This one is bonding well, and zookeepers are very happy. This little one will go on display when they feel she is ready to say hello. A contest will be held to choose a name.

You can read about the Portland Zoo and their Asian elephant program on the zoo's website.

This little girl has a high awwwwww factor.

Our son's birthday is tomorrow, so maybe I'll be back with a birthday blip. One never knows.

Catch ya later, my friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.