STILL LIFE

Today I have had a streaming cold - my nose has been running all day.  I have used so many tissues and my nose is red and sore. I suppose its a good thing as my head will be less congested.

The only thing on the calendar today was  Lily, Vets, 2.30pm.  Didn't happen.  I got her basket out of storage a few days ago and left it in plain sight so she could get used to seeing it.  This morning I moved it into the bathroom as that's the best room to get her into, shut the door and try to get her into the basket.  I got almost ready to go out, shoes on, coat on etc and got her favourite toy to " lure " her upstairs and into the bathroom.  She usually comes running - in fact we played for ages yesterday in the bathroom with this toy.  But today - she never came.  (Tino did - and he doesn't even like this toy) So I went downstairs to see where she was.... hiding underneath the sofa.  No chance of getting her out.  She's a wise one.  Of course Tino was just wandering around - I could have popped him into the cat basket in a second.  So I phoned the vets to cancel.  Receptionist wasn't bothered - they know what cats are like.  Made another appointment for next Thursday. Good job they don't charge for missed appointments.  ( Last year I had to cancel 3 appointments before I finally got her to the vets for her booster jab)

Later on I noticed two cards on the mat - missed delivery - from Hermes.  No need for cards of course as I was at home.  Read the first card - said the parcel had been taken back to the depot.  Read the second card saying  "Ignore the first card - parcel is at Number 1".   So I popped round to Number 1.  I was welcomed inside by Ron ( aged 92 ) and Cath ( aged 90 ) Cath's 90th birthday was last week so she showed me all the cards she had received - there must  been about 30 - and the 12 bouquets of flowers.  It was like a florists shop - wonderful smell too.  I didn't stay long as I didn't want to pass on my germs.  They are very frail and in poor health anyway.  I suppose the Hermes guy did me a favour and gave me a reason to call round and see them.

The Abstract Thursday theme is " Still Life ".  So I gathered together some pieces of Mdina Glass which I bought in Malta, took my shot - and faffed.  Thanks as usual to Ingeborg for hosting.

Steps today - 4,703

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.