The Lily Pond Has Frozen

I am a visitor to the Arboretum gardens at every time of year, and in all sorts of weather. The gardens offer special delights for each season for the one who is willing to look.

I have sung the praises of the little lily pond at the Arboretum, and I have shown you quite a few photos of it It is my favorite destination in the gardens in the warmer seasons of the year, when it is home to beautiful lotus blooms, water lilies in every color, and fancy bugs.

My beloved lily pond has frozen now. The tender plants were removed from it a month or more ago. The last time you saw those poplars behind the lily pond, they were wearing their golden glory. The pretty foliage colors are gone now, the reflections muted. I have to admit to you that I miss all of those glorious things; how couldn't I?

But the Arboretum staff and volunteers are starting to decorate the gardens for next week's holiday festival. And of course, at some point, there will be more snow. The holiday decorations, the winter beauties - I promise I will show you, and all of those sights will make us smile too, in the frozen gardens.

Here's a song for the gardens, and my lovely lily pond (yes, it feels like MINE, though I own it not one bit): Idina Menzel and Jennifer Nettles, with Let It Go, from the motion picture Frozen. Just for fun, I'm including my favorite weather man parody of the same tune, Just Don't Go. Enjoy!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.