Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Today I went to the Swedish company that has a written description to most of their products... Yes, IKEA...
I needed to buy one hanger and a packet of hooks. The hanger is the one in the photo, that kind you hang on topp of the door. And the hooks fastens themselves with this adhesive stuff. I haven't been to IKEA for a while and that resulted in some running around. Up the stairs, then down the stairs and walking past all of the different sections. I stopped for a short while at some Christmas decorations. Saw some cute Robins made of felt, but the price and the cuteness didn't fit so I left them at the store. I almost bought a large round jar for cookies, but resisted because I really don't have the space. I searched for a fox shaped baking pan for a friend that loves foxes, but didn't find it. When I came to the bathroom section the staff were moving stuff around and I was lucky to spot a trolley filled with the hooks I was after. I didn't see the hanger so I took the easy way out and asked one of the staff. Then I continued towards the cashiers were I thought I'd find the storage box with lid, that I was after. I went passed the candle section were I spotted a scented candle in an apple shaped container... I couldn't resist. It smells of cinnamon and apples. When I came to the cashiers I couldn't find the storage box and I couldn't find the rechargeable batteries I needed. Ok, so I asked a staff member again and the storage box I could only find in the children's section, one floor up... and the batteries should be on the right side of the cashiers or in the section for light. So I wandered back through the whole floor, to get to the stair to the second floor, to find the children section and there was the storage container, but where were the lids...? I searched... couldn't find them, so I went to ask another member of staff. She came with me and found them were no one could see them. At least I had my lid. Now batteries... Down the stairs and through all the different sections until I got to the light section... couldn't find the batteries, so I asked a member of staff and he pointed me in the right direction. Finally I had everything I wanted and when back to the cashiers, through all the sections, taking a short cut and then the long walk through the section were there're loads of shelves with furniture and other things..... I didn't have to stand in line for too long, thankfully. There were a lot of staff in the store. I talked to four of them and got quick help. 
The thing is... I went to IKEA today because I thought it wouldn't be so crowded... I wasn't the only one thinking that... At least I was in and out under an hour - including a walk to and from the bus stop.
An IKEA adventure! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.