Farmer’s Market

In yesterday’s blip I wrote about the cross-country skiing races that I watched on catch-up after arriving in DC. This morning I was awake early (0345) and was able to watch the races live from about 0430. It’s great to be back in ski season again! I do enjoy watching. This weekend’s races were from Ruka in Finland, just below the arctic circle. The women’s race was 10k and the men’s was 15k, both in the classic ski style.

The races were finished about 3 hours later and I fell back to sleep for 3 more hours which is unlike me. I think watching the skiing relaxes me.

After all of yesterday’s heavy rain it was a gloriously sunny warm day, with not a single cloud. So soon after waking up I hurried over to DuPont Circle where there is a farmer’s market every Sunday, 52 weeks of the year. I wandered around and tried some samples of apples,pears, cheese and (non-alcoholic) cider. I bought a plate of grits and pulled pork with egg for a picnic lunch which I enjoyed while sitting in the sun by the fountain in DuPont Circle. Followed by coffee and a muffin. What a glorious day! I stayed until the sun went behind the buildings. By that time it was time to hurry back to the hotel to get ready for my flight back home this evening. At least I got a good dose of sunshine and fresh air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.