Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

What an end to the rugby season!

This morning we awoke to rain and rather grim grey weather. Murdoch hates walking in the rain and when he got home all wet he looks so forlorn and miserable.

Gavin and I went to a framing supplier nearby to get some mount boards for some of my photographs that I needed , but after waiting 30 minutes for service I googled the product I wanted, ordered it online, and left! One man serving all the customers and being painfully slow about it is not a winning formula for a business.

It was raining all day, and when we got to the rugby pitch this afternoon to watch Thomas' final match it was still raining, with the wind blowing raindrops in all directions, so not good for photography at all. I had to constantly wipe my lens to avoid the raindrops. The light was very poor and with the ISO cranked up on my camera I was surprised I managed to get any decent shots at all. It was their final match of the season, and for us, the final match after watching school boy rugby for well over 15 years. I was feeling quite emotional about it and was determined to get some photos regardless of the weather. 

And what a match it was! The 2nd team won (against Eton College) by 50-0. What a score! The team was jubilant at the end of their match, and as they are the only team at school this season to win all their matches they are allowed to order a special winning team shirt. Our 1st team has not had a good season, and as one teacher said, despite having some very talented players in that team, they never managed to play well together as a team. The 2nd team seemed to be united and played very well as a team, possibly due to their much loved coach. I have added an extra of Thomas and his friend after the match - as you can see I had to use flash as it was so dark by then, and the flash has picked up the falling rain drops.

Tonight it is the annual rugby dinners for the teams, but sadly (and sensibly) Thomas has decided not to attend his dinner as it will be quite a party with much alcohol and he is busy preparing for his university interview on Tuesday. So while his friends are revelling in their success, the poor boy is working hard preparing for his interview. I should explain that his interview at Cambridge University is more like an oral academic exam, the term interview is a bit of a misnomer, as it requires plenty of academic preparation.

What an end to the season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.