Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Flooding

As Thomas was studying today Gavin and I thought we would go for a long walk while he was busy - in the end that did not happen as there seemed to be too many things to be done at home. I sent off some images to get printed and then got stuck into writing Christmas cards. I managed to get them all done today so they are now ready for posting. Gavin put up the Christmas lights and wreath on the front door, and then next weekend we will go get our Christmas tree. If I get it too soon it is all dry and dead by the time Christmas arrives.

We went in to the village where I took this photo - on Friday the river levels were even higher, but I noticed there were men with diggers on the river banks and were clearing all the trees - I think they are trying to widen the river as it always floods so easily. 

A quiet night tonight - Gavin is off to New York tomorrow for the week and I am off to Cambridge with Thomas tomorrow after school, so it will be good to just relax at home tonight and not do much.

I am enjoying reading at the moment. I have just finished I am I am I am by Maggie O Farrell, one of my favourite authors and this book, an autobiography, is excellent. I am now halfway through Normal People by Sally Rooney and enjoying that very much too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.