Santa Came Town...........

Wow!!!!   What a week!   I have had a Bonsai friend visiting all week.  Judy has kept me incredibly busy with a most wonderful visit.  Yesterday, was our Bonsai Club Xmas party, and this is a backblip for yesterday, with all photos taken yesterday.

    The alarm went off at 6:00am yesterday morning.  I had to get up earlier to make tea and get Judy up.  She required time in the morning to shower, dress, and put on her makeup.  We laugh and giggled as she or I would same something and she had to redo that part of her makeup.  I finally quit talking and went about packing the food in the car, getting her clothes and suitcase packed.  
     We had to leave the villa at 8:30 to stop and get a cake and vegetable platter at the grocery store.  Problem 1:  The cake decoration wasn't done and the veggie platter wasn't ready, so we were delayed.  I got Judy back to the car because she has a lot of trouble standing and walking for any distance or time.  As I waited in the store to pay for everything, she was accosted by very uncivil, aggressive, verbally abuse men who were yelling at her for sitting in a car that I had parked close to the store to save her steps.  The alarm went off in the car when she opened the window to cool off.  I came out from the store and had to disperse the foul mouthed men.  I drove her out of there and then tried to calm her down.

      We did get to the Nursery on time (10:00).  Now the real work began.  Judy got her walker, and then started doing her part of the set up.  She hustled around as much as she could, not letting anyone take away her independence or ability to function and help.   Mean while, I got to set up all the food as it came in!    Oh boy, that was a JOB!   Within 1 1/2 hours, all the food for 70 people arrived.  I ran out of table space!  I organized, re-organized everything!  There was so much food, I finally went to the club president and said Horsd' oeuvres  were served......    the first course  went.
      Then, 15 mins later, we had all the main course ready to go, 3 lines, and  everyone was feed.  After that, I set up the deserts, at an extra table, and everyone was able to go back for 2nd's and desert.  
     By this time, I am STARVED!!!!!   No breakfast, worked long and hard in high humidity and 78 temps, I had to eat!  It was delicious, with enough for everyone to have as much as they want. 
      Afterwards, the raffle started and was enthusiasticly  participated in.  Bonsai games came afterwards, with lots of laughter and fun and general joy and friendship.  It was a wonderful day and a terrific memory to add to the ones I already have of the Nursery!
     The saddest part was saying goodbye to Judy.....  She was leaving me and going home with David C. and his wife, Katie.  Today,  David is driving her back to North Carolina, which is about an eight hour ride.  She is a terrific person.  We have very different political views and have very lively discussions about our point of views.   But.....  when  all is said and done, their was nothing mean, vicious, or unaccepting of another persons point of view, as we saw at the grocery store.  We hugged one another, love and respect each other, as well as helped each other to understand the other side.   I will miss her and her friendship.........   until the next time I see her...
because I will see her again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.