Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Barrio

I got exactly one photo off on my Camera Club field trip after we had lunch before I got a call that my mother had fallen and was being transported to the hospital.  The caregiver was with her which was a good thing.  One extremely nice woman who was also on her very first Camera Club trip volunteered to drive me back to Green Valley.  We got home from the hospital around 10:00 pm (from 2:30) and she's okay.  The only sign that anything happened is a cut across the bridge of her nose caused by her glasses.

The La Pilita mural depicts the history of Tucson but the only thing I recognized was the Mission San Xavier del Bac on the upper left and someone buried on the bottom right.  When I have a chance I'll Google it.  The artist's name is Moreno.

EDIT: Okay, Googled and found these two pieces which compliment each other.  Read this one  and this one.  Apparently, it has more to do with loss of tradition of the Mexicans/Aztecs in this area of the city than the history of the city itself.  It's an important work of art in the city.  I also visited the shrine to which the articles refer.  Quite fascinating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.