Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas...

I went back to the garden centre this morning in the bigger car to collect the Christmas tree I bought yesterday. I could barely find a parking space, it was so busy. I was told not to come collect it on the weekend as it is so chaotic there and the lad serving me said I wouldn't get good service as they are too busy. They have been awarded as one of the top 5 national garden centres for Christmas and they have amazing Christmas decorations, all in themes - this year they have PT Barnum, Aladdin, Charlie and The Chocolate Factory amongst others. They also have live reindeer for the children to visit so you can see why it is so busy. I did get good service and the lad who went to find my tree took it all the way to the car which was parked far away and helped me fit it in -it just fitted!

Then I set about wrapping all the presents, and it is all done now! I put the Christmas music on and decided to get into the Christmas spirit, so it was quite fun wrapping and not the chore I usually find it to be.

Last night at our camera group meeting, as our theme this term has been style, we had an excellent talk by one of our members who is the Style Director of M&S. It was so interesting to learn how colours for the season coming up in 18 months time are chosen by a world wide body of colour pickers, and how the trends are developed considering colour, texture and style using mood boards. It was a fascinating insight into how styles are developed. I have added some extras of my homework which had to be submitted for last night's meeting, which was to copy a photo of style of a famous photographer (I blipped one of them previously, here) - it was fun doing these!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.